Royal Ascot

Royal Ascot returns this month for five days of high quality racing. Each day has six flat races, including eight Group One races.

Thursday includes the main event of the festival – the coveted Gold Cup race. Order of St George, rode by Ryan Moore, won last year’s Gold Cup and is the favourite to be first past the post again this time around.

Ascot attracts many of the worlds best racehorses, who will compete for more than £6.5 million in prize money.

When is Royal Ascot?

The racing starts on Tuesday June 20 and concludes on Saturday June 24.

Where are the races?

The five day event, from the 20th to 24th June 2016, takes place at Ascot in Berkshire, England, and features six world-class races, the finest fashion and plenty of smoozing. Not to mention an appearance from The Queen.

The Ascot Racecourse is located in the pretty Berkshire countryside, not far from Windsor Great Park.

ITV Racing is showing all the main British horse racing events live this year.


The royal precession takes place at 2pm.

Racing commences half an hour later and finishes around 5:35pm.

Ascot enclosures

Tuesday will see the start of group one races, including the Queen Ann Stake (named after its founder).

On Wednesday attendees will get to enjoy a slightly more relaxed atmosphere as the Prince of Wales Stakes gets underway.

The historic and prestigious Gold Cup will take place on Thursday, and it is also a chance to see everybody decked out in their finest dresses and hats.

Friday will welcome a traditional set of races including the Coronation stakes.

The finale on Saturday when the Diamond Jubilee stakes will take place is considered the one of the world’s greatest sprint races